7 Things you can do TODAY to Organize your Life!

In 2013, I am going through some major changes to organize my life and my business. I have been doing some research, and I think that its really a journey we could all take together! So today, I am sharing 7 Things you can do Today to organize your life!

Get a calendar. The first thing I did was purchase a calendar and put all of my reoccurring things in there such as kids sports practices etc. And then, I went in and put in special dates, such as the kids Recitals, Games, Holidays, etc. That way, you can make sure that you don’t forget one of those activities and get a real shocker when you realize that you have to be somewhere important in 20 minutes!
Make To-Do lists. There are plenty of websites out there that have FREE printable to do lists. I make one every day for myself. In top of that, I make a vow to myself to knock as many things off of it each day. If you are like me, you like instant gratification. Crossing stuff off of the list is a real reward for me. It makes me feel like I am accomplishing things and getting stuff done! Better yet, give yourself a reward. “Today, if I get 10 things knocked off of my To-Do list, I will get a manicure.”
Organize your morning. Statistics show that if you have your morning routine down pat, your day tends to run more smoothly. Set out the kids clothes the night before, make sure all of their stuff is in one spot, ready to go in the morning. Set out a bowl of fruit if you know the next morning is going to be hectic. Tell the kids to grab one for breakfast. Have a routine, and stick to it!
Schedule Yourself. Right brained people, like myself, like to leave their days open. They tend to leave large blocks of time open to let “life happen.” Make it a goal today to schedule yourself. At 9am, I am going to do housework. At 11am, I am going to answer my emails. At 12:30 I am going to make lunch. At 1 I am going to run errands and go grocery shopping but must be to the school to pick up my kids at 3. This is just an example, and of course LIFE DOES HAPPEN so don’t get too bent out of shape if you have to change your schedule up a bit!
Put stuff away immediately. Again, this is my right brain doing the damage. Us artistic RB folks get distracted easily. We bring the groceries in and set them on the counter, and then go fold clothes. We just spent an hour grocery shopping and we just want to move on to something else. “The groceries don’t need to be done right now, but my laundry sure is stacking up.” Focus your thoughts on making sure you put everything away right after you use it. When you take your shoes off, put them in the closet. When you change your clothes in the morning, put your jammies away. Make your bed immediately. Try doing this for just ONE DAY and notice the huge difference!
Remove the clutter. Pick one room in your house and make the choice to completely de clutter it. I started with my bathroom. I went through all of my body soaps, shampoos, and different odds and ends and got rid of the stuff I haven’t used in years! Makeup has accumulated over the years for me, so I narrowed it down to the things I use daily, and got rid of the stuff I don’t wear or haven’t worn in a while. I don’t think there is a chance I will be wearing Silver Glitter Lipstick in the near future 😉
Give stuff away! Walk through your house and find 5-10 things you can give to charity, today! Now, there is a trick to this. You can’t remove anything from your charity pile, and you have to get rid of it as soon as possible. You are de-cluttering, remember!

I am sharing a link to a To-Do list that I absolutely love, it has everything I need on one sheet of paper- And it even reminds me to drink water!

Image

http://www.lifes-a-journal.com/2011/07/20/daily-pages/

Leave a Reply

